A soda pop brand such as Coca-Cola has been around for a long time. It was introduced in the late 1800s, and is still going strong today. The iconic red logo is easily recognized across the globe, and it’s synonymous with crispness and refreshing. Consequently, you notice a change in that classic look right away. Coke bottles with yellow caps have probably caught your attention recently, so you wondered what it meant.
Kosher for Passover is yellow coca cola cap
During Passover, you can eat for seven days only, which is a Jewish religious holiday celebrated during spring. It is prohibited to consume or own leavened foods, known as chametz, which includes wheat, spelt, oats, rye, and barley during the holiday.
Some Jews, however, recognize that corn, rice, and beans fall into another category of forbidden foods (known as kitniyot).
This affects Coke in a number of ways. While the regular Coke formula is kosher all year round, it contains corn syrup, so it’s not considered kosher for Passover by Jews from Eastern Europe. As a result, Coke replaces corn syrup in its recipe with sugar temporarily. This is why the kosher Coke has a sunny yellow cap! By the way, that’s the difference between Diet Coke and Coke Zero.
What makes Kosher Coke so popular?
Even though they are intended for Jewish Passover celebrations, these “Original Taste” Cokes are beloved by many Coke lovers. Plenty of people buy them because they enjoy the flavor or want to stay away from high fructose corn syrup.
It’s no different in price from their regular recipe, so you don’t have to worry about overpaying for these Cokes!